Relationships: The “Cookie”

This world has been shaped in a way that we learn to live by certain standards and life principles in an attempt to conform to societal norms and ways of living. Did I just say conform? But what principles do we follow? (Eyes roll).

Just like most 20 something year old ladies, I desire and aspire to have that perfect relationship (hahhaha if you know what am talking about). On a random evening, I got a text from one of my girlfriends telling me that one of her male friends told her of a friend (Mr X) who was interested in meeting a young lady with some of the following characteristics: interesting, smart, Cameroonian and ‘bamileke’ (that’s my tribe – feel free to google for more info). The list of qualities can go and on. Since my girlfriend knew I was single and obviously searching (wink), she decided to share my contact with her male friend who eventually passed it on to Mr. X, with whom I ended up going on 2 dates. Fast forward to 1.5 months later, Mr. X began telling me he wanted the ‘cookie’ and how I should move in with him (woo-hoo). Not too fast dude; with him clearly stating that he can’t be in a relationship without having his ‘cookie’. Hence the conclusion, why would he buy a book when he can borrow it?

I was surprised by his request, mainly because; it was only over a month that we began talking/seeing each other. I had hinted at my life principles as a Christian lady in one of our conversations, but wasn’t explicit. Oh let’s not forget that Mr. X equally claimed to be a Christian, but didn’t take the Bible 100% (only practiced what was convenient for him). After this scenario, I learned that we have to be explicit from the get go about what our life principles, desires and standards are. Why should I go against my standards and belief just to be in a relationship and please someone else ‘selfish’ needs? Let’s not forget that two friends (who know me too well) once questioned me about my interest in Mr. X and whether I told him about my principles and standards. My response to them was a ‘Big YES’, but had I really spoken to him about it? The response is ‘NO’. I just played along to capture his attention; with the hopes of it turning into a beautiful relationship.

I am not judging Mr. X, but this encounter ended up being a life lesson for me and I quickly turned down his request and never looked back in that direction. I thank my friends for that reminder.

Till next week..

9 thoughts on “Relationships: The “Cookie”

  1. Pingback: Relationship: verse I | Tatiana Nouya

  2. Waaaa poor Mr X…lol…cant imagine his feeling and how moody he was when searching for another girl with different principle…anyway you werent soulmates maybe….keep on going..l enjoyed myself while reading..lolll

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Let me tell you just one thing: that experience was only there to prepare you for something great in ur life. The next relationship you’re going to have will be the Last one, because marriage is in your next relationship . Satan wanted to distract you with that meaningless relationship, so you could end up being pessimist and curse God, but he lost on that one again.
    Something great is coming your way my dear. We are going to celebrate ur miracle soon. I love how u took the whole experience as a grown up woman. U didnt call him names or say bad things about him. And I love how u respected his identity.
    Be blessed sis

    Liked by 1 person

  4. not to say i agree with mr x. . .
    girls nothing garantees u dat after . . . he’ll be serious or nt he can still wait for years and after the cookx he offs what next . . . ! ? ! ? ! ?
    but the ideal is to keep the packed of sugar, preserve self dignity and/or stay tight to his/her doctrine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

